It’s Not My Fault

So I opened up my writing software program and discovered that I haven’t written a single word since October 4th.

This is bad.

It’s certainly not from a lack of motivation or desire or ideas.  I’ve got plenty of all three.   So it begs the question – what’s keeping me away from the keyboard?

It really is a matter of not getting on the computer, honest.  At least, not getting on for the purpose of writing.  I know part of the issue is that my husband is taking two MBA classes this semester, both online, and he’s had to get the point where he’s using the desktop and his work laptop at the same time in order to keep track of all the different files and windows he’s accessing to do his work.

I don’t begrudge him the computer for that at all.  And it’s just rotten luck that the two courses he’s taking this semester are work-loaded and surprisingly challenging and probably haven’t translated well to an online format.

In any case, that’s just one of the things that’s kept me away from the computer recently.

We’ve had a couple very busy weekends.  Columbus Day weekend we were out of town for a wedding and had to leave right after work on Friday.  For some reason I’m blanking on what I did last weekend but I know we weren’t around much.

Okay, so the week after Columbus Day I should have gotten a lot done, because my husband was out of town on a work trip.  So the computer was all mine.  But I did nothing.  Whenever he has to go out of town on a business trip, my urge to do anything goes right out the window.  We won’t discuss what I had for dinner the five nights he was gone.

I had reset my deadline for October 31st, but it’s not looking promising at this point.  Probably the only way I can valiantly pull this deadline through is if I put full 12 hour days in this weekend.  And I don’t see that happening.

So my intentions are good.  I just haven’t been able to get going in three weeks.  It always seems like something gets in the way.

Maybe it is my fault……

Leave a Reply

