NaNoWriMo Begins Today!

For those of you not in the “know”, today is November 1st, which is the official beginning of National Novel Writing Month (or NaNoWriMo).

I first discovered NaNoWriMo when I was in college but never got around to participating until 2005.  I got a whopping 15,000 words (approximately) written during that month.  A very modest undertaking.  But November is a tough month. Which is probably why it’s NaNoWriMo.

I haven’t participated since then, and had I finished my novel rewrite by now I might have made an attempt. It would be ridiculous to even try now.  November is one of the worst months for a teacher to do anything not related to school (between report cards and conferences) and writing in November as it is always gets tricky due to the onset of the holiday season and Thanksgiving festivities.

I will be devoting November to finishing my rewrite.  Any spare minute goes into my manuscript.  I WILL be done by November 30th!

Maybe next year, I can attempt NaNoWriMo again.

Leave a Reply

