Well dang it.

So that contest I posted about on Monday?

Yeah, not selected.

Bummer.  *runs to cry in the corner for a while*

Okay, I’m done feeling sorry for myself.  Because, frankly, out of 350+ entries, most of which were YA entries, the odds of my little historical fiction story getting picked was pretty slim.  Plus, as I said previously, the first 500 words of a HF story can be tricky because, well, lots of times you might not start with a bang.

So what’s next?  Well, I’m going to keep tweaking my query, editing my manuscript, and continue compiling a spreadsheet (because I’m weird like that) of potential agents and small publishers.  My goal is to have sent out queries by the end of August to everyone on my list.  There is also a novel contest run by the Historical Novel Society, ending September 30th, which I will probably enter.

I’m also continuing work on my little chick lit JulNoWriMo project, and I’ve bookmarked a few literary magazines for potential short story submissions.

As… soon as I write some short stories to submit.

In the meantime, it’s projected to hit 90+ degrees Fahrenheit here today (woohoo!), and I have plans to park myself poolside for a while this afternoon.

Leave a Reply

