Movies I Can’t Wait to See

After several months of ho-hum movie releases (at least in terms of what I get fired up about at the movie theater), there are a handful of films coming out in the next three months that have me oh so excited.  Here they are in the order of their release dates.

“Cloud Atlas”

I have to admit that I’m not totally sure what this movie is about, other than being one of those “everything is connected” movies.  From the descriptions and the trailer, it looks like a combination of “Love Actually” and “Orlando.”  But most Tom Hanks movies are pretty dang good.

“Lincoln”

I thoroughly enjoyed “The Conspirator” when it came out last year, mostly because of (no surprise) how historically accurate the filmmakers strove to be.  So I was pretty (aka beyond) excited to hear about Spielberg’s Lincoln biopic project.  Daniel Day-Lewis, Sally Field, and Tommy Lee Jones – pretty big names too.  The movie is based on the book Team of Rivals by Doris Kearns Goodwin, so I expect more historical awesomeness.  I almost squealed out loud when I first saw the trailer.

“Anna Karenina”

I saw the 1948 film version of this classic Russian novel, the one that stars the one and only Vivien Leigh, several years ago. It’s going to be hard for Keira Knightly to live up to Leigh in my opinion, but I expect good things judging from her performance in “The Dutchess”.  Plus it stars Jude Law – and I never mind a movie with Jude Law.

“The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey”

Do I really need to explain this? Okay.  Well, I’m a huge LOTR fan.  I was long before the trilogy was ever conceptualized as film, at least as far as I’m aware.  I was a relative newcomer to The Hobbit, having read the LOTR trilogy and The Silmarillion before picking up Tolkien’s original venture into Middle Earth.  But any film relating to Tolkien’s work is more than okay by me.  LOTR was amazing, and I expect the same from Peter Jackson’s return trip to Middle Earth.

“Les Misérables

This is my most favorite musical ever. I know every note and every word of every song.  I prayed, in vain, that we would do this show for one of our yearly musicals when I was in high school.  I would give just about anything to perform in it, even as a lowly ensemble member (though playing Eponine would be beyond awesome).  I finally had the opportunity to see it performed on stage with a Broadway touring company in February (yeah, my favorite show, and I just saw it on stage this year), which was amazing because I was literally only two months late to see it on Broadway before the 25th anniversary run ended.

This film release really ties with “The Hobbit” on my highly anticipated must-see movies list for this winter.  And it might edge into first place.  But the producers have been surprisingly mum about production stuff – no doubt they want to surprise and awe us all with the awesome performances.  I’m most curious to see how Russell Crowe fares as Inspector Javert, and if Hugh Jackman can hit those high notes in “Bring Him Home.”

So what films are you chomping at the bit to see in theaters?

Leave a Reply

