Motivated, but no energy

I got this brilliant (okay, maybe I’m the only one who’ll think it’s brilliant) idea for a short-ish story about, oh a month ago. And I even set myself a deadline – because we all know how I am about deadlines.  I outlined about half of the story, though the other half is pretty well complete in my head, wrote the first scene…

And then sat on it till, oh, Sunday night.

Why is this bad?  Because the deadline I set for myself is October 13th.  Which is this Saturday.  Why?  Because there’s a bit of a contest/submission call-out I want to enter, and the deadline for submissions is October 15th.  So I’ve been furiously typing away for the past two days, determined to finish because my writing software says I’ll make it if I can hammer out about 4000 words each day.

No problem right?

Well, slight one.

See, I would totally have chalked this one up to the “oh crap I didn’t plan my time well at all” thing, as normally I spend 6+ hours a day teaching a bunch of 7 and 8 year olds how to, you know, read and stuff.

But then I had to have surgery on Monday – minor, everything’s good – and needed to take at least two days off work to properly set myself on the road to being mended.  And I thought, “Hey, I can get a lot of writing done!”

Well, yeah… About that…

Being semi-supine on the couch for two days (actually three, since I’m not quite feeling up to wrangling the second graders tomorrow) would contribute to a lot of word count bad-assery. At least, one would think so.  But though I’ve got this killer idea and lots of motivation to make it happen,  it turns out that even having minor surgery makes one tired, unable to focus, and


on the internet.

I shouldn’t complain too much.  Looks like I’ll be better enough to make it into work on Friday, and my word count stands at around 6500, which, according to my software’s calculations, is about a third of the 20k words I’m aiming for. So I guess we have to see what happens.

Leave a Reply

