Surprise Awesomesauce!

There hasn’t been a whole lot of writing going on around here since school started last week, unless you count creating social studies note packets and PowerPoint presentations. In fact, other than stealing snippets of time to read Jane Eyre, nothing literary has seen the light of day in a good two weeks.

But I had a fun surprise when I opened my mailbox today.

To be honest, it wasn’t so much a surprise as something I’d forgotten would be arriving. You see, my fellow CNYRW member Christine Wenger celebrated the release of her first cozy mystery, Do or Diner, a few weeks ago. As part of the release awesomesauce, she held a contest in which one could win a copy of the new book. And I won.

When I found out, I almost replied with my usual, “I never win anything!” But if I look over the past few years, it seems to be more the case that I tend to win a lot of contests. Yes, usually they’re silly ones, like at my church’s Mardi Gras party a couple years ago when you won for, say, finding the most Mardi Gras beads. And I am the reigning champion of teachers for the “Show of Love” assembly at school, wherein you have to guess songs from TV shows and movies and general pop culture after hearing only a few seconds of the music. (They may have to invite me back for a cameo appearance this year.)

Anyway, in all the crazy/busy of studying the Common Core modules and prepping my classroom amid construction dust, I completely forgot about Christine’s book. So when I opened my mailbox today and saw the big, bulging envelope, I thought it was something my husband had ordered from Amazon.

I might have hopped and squealed a little when I saw who it was from. Luckily none of my neighbors were around.

And bonus, not only do I have a lovely, signed copy of Do or Diner, but my semi-surprise came with a real surprise!

Yes, that would be my Farberware knife block making a cameo appearance. I thought it was fitting.

Yes, that would be my Farberware knife block making a cameo appearance. I thought it was fitting.

Now if you will excuse me, I have a cookbook and a cozy mystery to read.

 

P.S. In case you’re wondering, I’m totally in love with my sixth graders. I couldn’t have hand-picked a better class to make the transition to middle school with.

Leave a Reply

