Look Back, Looking Ahead

December flew by, and it’s a little hard to believe we’re already a few days into 2014. I don’t really do New Year’s Resolutions anymore, other than a bit of goal setting. But I wanted to look back first and how I did in 2013 with some of my writing hopes.

I had a pretty ambitious list of things I hoped to accomplish last year, and while I crosses several things off that list, live managed, as it often does, to shorten the amount of time I had to devote to writing. Looking back, the first half of 2013 seemed to go pretty much on track with what I’d planned, but once the end of the summer rolled around, everything pretty much was dead in the water.

September is often a rough month anyway, because I always end up staying late at school trying to get beginning of the year things squared away. This year was particularly brutal in that regard. While I wasn’t technically getting home any later than usual, the change to middle school really shifted my daily routine. I mean, I’m not a morning person to start with, and having to start an hour earlier than I’m used to completely threw me for a loop. I’d say I didn’t get in to the swing of the new schedule until maybe mid-October. Beyond that, while I often have papers to grade in the evenings and on weekends, I generally can leave work at work. Not this year. With the adoption of the Common Core modules (and I’m teaching both Math and ELA), there’s a ton of prep work that needs to go into every lesson. So rather than stay at school until 6 or 7 at night, which was not out of the realm of possibility, I packed it up and brought it home to make my worksheets and SmartBoard lessons at home.

Instead of writing, unfortunately.

Thank God for the monthly Book In A Week challenges that CNYRW puts on. Otherwise I’d have nothing done.

So my writing goals sort of tanked through the end of 2013. Where does that put me now?

Currently, I have the historical fiction “magnum opus” part 1 undergoing a beta read with an online critique buddy I connected with through an RWA University class in October. I’m hoping it will be ship-shape enough to start submitting again by the end of February or March. I have a pretty good handle on where to go with it, in the event I decide to self-publish, but I still want to give it a few rounds with some small presses and agents first. I finished the chick lit romance and have that pretty well squared away. Opening chapters are currently being beta read by my good friend and fellow author Shelly Hickman. I’m hoping to sent that out for submission by the end of February. And the historical romance is about 10k words from the end of the first draft. I would love to get it wrapped up, edited, revised, and polished in time to submit it to RWA’s Golden Heart Award this year. And if the world is nice to me, I want to start revising and editing the historical fiction “magnum opus” part 2 this summer and get it out for critique.

On the personal front, there are a couple major things in the works for me and my husband. If everything falls into place, as we hope it will, 2014 will definitely turn out to be a pretty big, life changing year for us!

One thought on “Look Back, Looking Ahead

Leave a Reply

