Just Keep Swimming…

A lot of projects have been getting derailed lately, mostly by real life. I’m finally on the upward swing toward summer vacation (there are 34 school days left, not that I’m counting), and now that we’ve made it past state testing and parent conferences and report cards, there is a light at the end of the tunnel.

But, unfortunately, that doesn’t mean a whole lot of writing has been going on.

Don’t get me wrong. I managed close to 8k new words on the historical romance during the April “Book in a Week” challenge, which brought me within three chapters of the end. My chick lit romance is currently in the hands of a copy editor, who’s giving the MS a thorough once-over before I start sending out queries. And an online critique partner is doggedly slogging through the historical Magnum Opus Part 1 a few chapters at a time.

I guess I feel like I haven’t been particularly productive. Add in the fact that our master bathroom is under renovation, which means much of the house is under renovation┬ádust, and toss in a hearty helping of “I don’t have the energy to get off the couch most nights”, and you can imagine how it feels like I’m just treading water right now.

The end is in sight. I think the historical romance will be wrapped up, at least the rough draft, by the end of June. I’m shooting for the end of May, but I won’t be surprised or disappointed if that deadline whooshes past. If I can get all my current projects ship-shape and moving in the right direction toward possible publication (submissions, queries, maybe starting to really look into indie-publishing options) by the end of July, I’ll feel very accomplished.

This has been a tiring year. A great year, and I’ve been so blessed with all that’s happened in the past several months. But I’m ready for a little break. My plans for July involve chilling on my couch, watching back-seasons of Game of Thrones and a variety of other stuff.

Because, come August, I will be busier than ever.

Leave a Reply

