The Sweet Somethings Series Soundtrack

Music has played an important role in my life since I was a child. Chorus, band, marching band, high school and college musicals, and an eclectic collection of albums ranging from Mozart to LInkin Park to, at one point, Live.

Like, the early 1990s Live that was more hard rock than mainstream. Throwing Copper.

I digress.

Often when we think of soundtracks, we think of movies and TV. And for me, a good soundtrack and make or break a movie.

So it should come as no surprise that my novels have soundtracks, too.

As a writer, I listen to music all the time. When I’m plotting, writing, editing, and so on. Songs can take on a variety of meanings, depending on what you’re working on. I tend to listen mostly to popular music, what you’d hear on the radio, when I’m working on a contemporary romance. When I’m playing around with a historical project, I veer more toward instrumental music, often movie scores, with a few other select items with vocal tracks thrown in.

At the beginning of March, I was fortunate enough to attend a CRW workshop with author Cecy Robson. She talked about visualization, character development, and how you can use music for inspiration and to set the tone of your writing.

I was internally clapping as she spoke and shared some of her strategies, because I have long had a “soundtrack” for my Sweet Somethings series.

Each of the four novels (remember that HE TAKES THE CAKE will be coming out in a few short months – stay tuned for more details) has very different main characters, though all share certain common themes. Self-discovery alongside the discovery of true love. So some of the songs that go with Sweet Somethings are specific to a novel, while others are more general and could go with any of them.

If you’d like to check out the full playlist that makes up my Sweet Somethings Soundtrack, you can find it here.

Inspiration for Better Than Chocolate

Inspiration for When in Rome

Inspiration for The One I’m With


Inspiration for He Takes the Cake

Better Than Chocolate, When In Rome, and The One I’m With are all available for Kindle, and He takes the Cake will be coming in June. Better Than Chocolate and When In Rome are also available in print.

Leave a Reply

