Take a Sneak Peak at HE TAKES THE CAKE

Can you believe it’s less than a week until HE TAKES THE CAKE hits Kindles? I know I’m excited for the latest, and final, installment in my Sweet Somethings series.

Keep an eye here on the blog, as well as my socials, for an announcement this weekend about my Release Day Giveaway and Facebook event, as well as a “Meet the Main Characters” post that will pop up Monday or Tuesday.

In the meantime, here’s a sneak peak at a sample chapter.

Preparation

On a Sunday evening a month later, packing checklist in hand, I stand over the open suitcase on my bed and mentally run through the itinerary for the convention.

“Do you think I should bring anything else?” I ask Carmella, who sits on the accent chair in the corner, flipping through the organizational packet I got in the mail last week.

“Maybe another cocktail dress,” she says, frowning at the last page of the printed schedule. “The dark green one you splurged on after you finished your ACF coursework would look awesome with those copper highlights you just had done, and it complements the mahogany tones of your skin so well. You should wear it to the soiree.”

I brush my palm over my hair. The highlights were a last-minute idea. There are two semi-formal receptions I’ll probably attend over the next week, and I love how highlights look when I style my hair into chunkier, relaxed curls instead of leaving the tight, corkscrew ringlets that form when I let it go natural.

Approving the clothing suggestion, I cross to my closet and pull out the green dress. After carefully folding it, I cast a sidelong glance at Carmella. “If anything happens while I’m gone, anything at all, make sure you call me. Okay?”

“You do realize I have at least a month before my due date, and you’ll be back well before then. But yeah, I promise.” She flips open the convention booklet that arrived on Friday. “Did you get to proof your bio before they printed this?”

“No. I just copied and pasted from the bakery’s website, so it’s short and sweet.”

Carmella glances up. “The website doesn’t have anything about your new ACF credentials.”

I shrug and focus on shifting the contents of my suitcase so the green dress doesn’t get crushed. “It’s not a big deal. They’ll probably ask for something more inclusive to use at the panel discussion.”

“I’ll remind Lily to update your bio while you’re gone.” The booklet pages make a slight fwip sound as she flips to a different section. Then she gasps. “Tess!”

“What?” I spin, a pair of running socks in each hand.

“Did you see this? The final list of featured presenters?” Carmella turns the booklet and holds it up. A look of surprise etches itself on her face. “You must have.”

When I realize what pages she’s showing me, my stomach twists. I hide the accompanying grimace by shoving the socks into a side pocket of my suitcase. “Yeah, I saw it. So what?”

“What do you mean, so what?”

She stands and comes to my side, laying the open booklet across the suitcase and jabbing her finger at a bio at the bottom of the right-hand page. A small headshot, of a handsome black man in his early thirties, accompanies the short paragraph. He’s smiling—no, smirking—at the camera.

Tyler Brinks.

The man I told in no uncertain terms about seven and a half years ago that I never wanted to lay eyes on him again.

Who, exactly, is Tyler Brinks, and why doesn’t Tess want to see him? Read the rest of the chapter, and check out HE TAKES THE CAKE on Wednesday, June 21st!

Leave a Reply

